Martin Research Prize

The Martin Research Prizes were established to honor Joseph B. Martin, MD, PhD, who was Dean of Harvard Medical School from July 1997 to July 2007.   Prior to becoming Dean, Dr. Martin was Chief of the Neurology Service at MGH. 

Each year, ECOR awards three Martin Research Prizes to recognize outstanding research achievements published by MGH investigators in the previous calendar year.  One award is given for excellence in Fundamental (Basic) Research, one for excellence in Clinical Research, and one for excellence in Population Health Sciences Research.

Each award is for $100,000 including indirect costs.  The funds are to be used for the investigator's research at MGH and are not transferable to any other institution.

MGH Chiefs of Service, Chiefs of Units, Center Directors, and members of ECOR are invited to submit nominations.


2016 Martin Prize Winners-
Andrew T. Chan MD, Joseph MartinMD,PhD, Filip K. Swirski PhD