SAC 2019

71st Annual Meeting of the MGH Scientific Advisory Committee
April 3 & 4, 2019
Simches Research Building

Mass General’s Most Valuable Research Resource:
Our Faculty
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
10:00 am - 1:30 pm      POSTER SESSION                      Simches, 2nd Floor   
                                       Session 1: 10:00 - 11:30 am
                                      Session 2: 12:00 - 1:30 pm 
2:00 - 5:00 pm              CELEBRATION OF SCIENCE       Simches 3.110 
Welcome and Opening Remarks 
Peter L. Slavin, MD, President, MGH
2:15 - 2:55 pm   
Introduction to SAC 2019 & the ECOR Report
David E. Fisher, MD, PhD, Chair, Executive Committee on Research (ECOR)
2:55 - 3:30 pm
2019 Martin Prize for Clinical Research
Trial of Fingolimod versus Interferon Beta-1a in Pediatric Multiple Sclerosis
Tanuja Chitnis, MD
3:50 - 4:25 pm
2019 Martin Prize for Fundamental Research
Engineered Sialylation of Pathogenic Antibodies In Vivo Attenuates 
Autoimmune Disease
Robert M. Anthony, PhD
4:25 - 5:00 pm
2019 Howard M. Goodman Fellowship
Combinations of Molecular Engineering Strategies in Immune Cell Design
Marcela V. Maus,  MD, PhD
Thursday, April 4, 2019
8:00 am        Welcome and Introduction 
Peter L. Slavin, MD
8:05 – 8:40 am        Interview of Harvard University President Bacow
Lawrence S. Bacow, JD, MPP, PhD, President, Harvard University
Linda Henry, Managing Director of the Boston Globe and STAT
8:40 – 10:30 am        Current State of Mass General Research Institute Faculty 
David E. Fisher, MD, PhD
Researcher Quality of Life Survey
Karen Donelan, ScD, EdM
CNY Quality of Life Committee
David M. Langenau, PhD
Stories from our Faculty
Yakeel Quiroz, PhD; Miguel N. Rivera, MD; Bakhos A. Tannous, PhD; Karen K. Miller, MD
10:30 - 10:45 am        Break
10:45 -12:00 pm        Facilitating Career Development 
The Center for Faculty Development (CFD)
Anne Klibanski, MD, Director, CFD; Dennis Brown, PhD, Director, Office for Research Career Development; Nancy A. Rigotti, MD, Director, Office for Women’s Careers; Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH, 2002 Claflin Awardee
12:00 - 1:15 pm         Faculty Lunch
1:30 - 2:30 pm        Attracting and Engaging a Diverse Research Workforce
The Center for Diversity and Inclusion (CDI)
Winfred Williams, MD, Founding Director, CDI
Elena Olson, JD, Executitve Director, CDI
Oluwaseun Johnson-Akeju, MD, 2011 Physician-Scientist Development Awardee
Elsie Taveras, MD, MPH, Pediatrics and the Kraft Center for Community Health
2:30 - 3:00 pm        Faculty Retention in a Soft Money Environment
Bridging the NIH Funding Gap
Robert E. Kingston, PhD
3:00 - 3:45 pm
Sustaining our Talent
Susan A. Slaugenhaupt, PhD, Scientific Director, Mass General Research Institute
Sylvie Breton, PhD, Charles and Ann Sanders MGH Research Scholar & Richard Moerschner Endowed MGH Research Institute Chair
Mike McNally, Vice President for Development
3:45 - 3:50 pm       
Concluding Remarks
David E. Fisher, MD, PhD